Kidambi Srikanth seeded sixth at Denmark Open | Badminton News – Times of India


HYDERABAD: Japanese shuttlers Kento Momota and Akane Yamaguchi are the top seeds in the men’s and women’s singles categories for the Denmark Open Super-750 event to be held in Odense from October 13 to 19.
India’s Kidambi Srikanth is seeded sixth in men’s singles.
The event marks the return of international badminton which came to an abrupt halt in mid-march due to the rapid spread of the novel coronavirus.
The cream of international badminton will be seen in action during this event. Spain’s Carolina Marin, Japan’s Nozomi Okuhara and India’s Saina Nehwal have confirmed their participation for this tournament.
The women’s singles field is strong compared to men’s singles.
World champion PV Sindhu pulled out of the event. There is no Indian among women’s singles’s seeded players.
Apart from Srikanth, Parupalli Kashyap, Lakshya Sen, Subhankar Dey and Ajay Jayaram will be keen to make a mark at this event.
Momota, who has recovered from a serious accident on his way to Kuala Lumpur airport will be the top draw at this tournament. Denmark’s Viktor Axelsen will be missing from action as he had a minor surgery on his right ankle.
China, Indonesia and Malaysia have withdrawn from this event. It may be mentioned here that South Korea, Indonesia, Thailand and Chinese Taipei pulled out of the Thomas and Uber Cup, forcing Badminton World Federation (BWF) to cancel this prestigious event.
However, Chinese Taipei’s Lee Yang and Wang Chi-Lin are seeded third in men’s doubles.
Seedings (Men’s singles): 1.Kento Momota 2.Chou Tien Chen 3.Anders Antonsen 4.Ng Ka Long Angus 5.Kanta Tsuneyama 6.Kidambi Srikanth 7.Kantaphon Wangcharoen 8.Kenta Nishimoto.
Women’s singles: 1.Akane Yamaguchi 2.Nozomi Okuhara 3.Carolina Marin 4.Michelle Li 5.Sayaka Takahashi 6.Beiwen Zhang 7.Mia Blichfeldt 8.Aya Ohori
Men’s doubles: 1.Takeshi Kamura/Keigo Sonoda 2.Yuta Watanabe/Hiroyuki Endo 3.Lee Yang/Wang Chi-Lin 4.Takuro Hoki/Yugo Kobayashi 5.Kim Astrup/Anders Skaarup Rasmussen 6.Marcus Ellis/Chris Langridge 7.Mark Lamsfuss/Marvin Seidel 8.Vladimir Ivanov/Ivan Sozonov
Women’s doubles: 1.Yuki Fukushima/Sayaka Hirota 2.Mayu Matsumoto/Wakana Nagahara 3.Chiharu Shida/Nami Matsuyama 4.Stefani Stoeva/Gabriela Stoeva 5.Chloe Birch/Lauren Smith 6.Sara Thygesen/Maiken Fruergaard 7.Rachel Honderich/Kristen Tsai 8.Selena Piek/Cheryl Seinen
Mixed: 1.Yuta Watanabe/Arisa Higashino 2.Marcus Ellis/Lauren Smith 3.Tang Chun Man/Tse Ying Suet 4.Chris Adcock/Gabrielle Adcock 5.Robin Tabeling/Selena Piek 6.Mark Lamsfuss/Isabel Herttrich 7.Rodion Alimov/Alina Davletova 8.Takuro Hoki/Wakana Nagahara.

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here