BU’s Butler Appointed to NCAA Men’s Basketball Oversight Committee


Baylor men’s basketball junior guard Jared Butler has been appointed to the NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Oversight Committee. Butler will immediately begin serving as the student-athlete representative on the committee with a term running through June 30, 2022.
“I am honored to be chosen to represent student-athletes on the NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Oversight Committee,” Butler said. “This is a responsibility I take seriously, and I am committed to being prepared and informed as we seek to enhance the student-athlete experience throughout college basketball. I’m grateful for the opportunity to speak for student-athletes across the nation and to learn from so many experienced leaders.”
Butler joins a committee which currently has seven athletics directors, two conference commissioners, two deputy/associate conference commissioners, two head coaches, one FAR and one SAAC representative. Butler and Georgetown’s Malcolm Wilson (SAAC representative) are the only student-athletes on the committee.
The committee is responsible for maintaining oversight of Division I men’s basketball, enhancing the development and public perception of the sport and making recommendations related to regular-season and postseason men’s basketball. The committee also reviews recommendations from the NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Committee and provides direction to the NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Rules Committee.
The committee is comprised of approximately 12 voting members and four nonvoting members. Voting members include approximately four Council members and seven non-Council members, as well as one member of the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee who is a men’s basketball student-athlete. Nonvoting members include the chair of the Men’s Basketball Committee, executive director of the NABC, a faculty athletics representative and a Division I men’s basketball student-athlete.
Athletics directors on the committee include James Phillips (Northwestern), Mitch Barnhart (Kentucky), Scott Barnes (Oregon State), Barry Collier (Butler), Kery Davis (Howard), Martin Newton (Samford) and Paul Schlickmann (Fairfield).
Conference office representatives include Judy MacLeod (Conference USA Commissioner), Gloria Nevarez (West Coast Conference Commissioner), Jeff Jackson (Big 12 Executive Associate Commissioner) and John Williams (Southland Conference Deputy Commissioner).
Head coaches Cuonzo Martin (Missouri) and Matt Painter (Purdue) are on the committee, and they are joined by Lindsey Blom (Ball State FAR) and James Haney (NABC Executive Director).
The committee is chaired by MacLeod, with Schlickmann serving as vice chair. Dan Gavitt and Charnele Kemper are the committee’s liaisons.
Previous student-athlete representatives on the committee include Oklahoma’s Khadeem Lattin, Marquette’s Markus Howard and Seton Hall’s Romaro Gill.
For more information on the NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Oversight Committee, visit http://www.ncaa.org/governance/committees/division-i-men-s-basketball-oversight-committee?division=d1.

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here