As predicted badminton camp cancelled, teams announced | Badminton News – Times of India


HYDERABAD: As predicted by TOI, the national camp for the Thomas and Uber Cup has been cancelled. The camp with 26 players was scheduled to begin on September 7 but did not begin before it was called off on September 10.
With top players not willing to comply with a couple of standard operating procedures (SOPs) prescribed by Sports Authority of India (SAI), the Badminton Association of India (BAI) was forced to cancel the camp.
As per the SOPs all the players selected for the camp have to stay at the academy and should not break the bio-bubble. However, star shuttlers are reluctant to stay at the site of the camp and want to come to the academy from their homes.
For six days BAI and SAI held talks on this issue but the deadlock remained. SAI was insisting that all the sportspersons and sports bodies across the country have to follow the SOPs issued to deal with the situation. The boxing federation had already conducted a camp following the SOPs and all the pugilists stayed at the same complex.
BAI general secretary Ajay Singhania said, “After a lot of deliberations and multi-level meetings with all stakeholders including Sports Authority of India, we have decided to cancel the camp. With the SOP implemented and quarantine procedures followed, there will not be enough time to conduct a camp and hence it was a decision taken in consultation with the five selectors and the National Coach. We have also selected a team that will be representing India at the Thomas & Uber Cup as well as the other two tournaments to be played in Denmark,” said Badminton Association of India (BAI) general secretary Ajay Singhania.
The Thomas and Uber Cup would be held in Aarhus, Denmark from October 3 to 11. BAI was supposed to select the squad on September 17 but had to advance the selection and announced a 20-member squad on September 10.
The teams for the Denmark Open (Oct 13-18) and Denmark Masters (Oct 20-25) have also been announced.
Thomas Cup:Kidambi Srikanth, Parupalli Kashyap, Lakshya Sen, Subhankar Dey, Siril Verma, Manu Attri, Sumeeth Reddy, MR Arjun, Dhruv Kapila and Krishna Prasad Garaga.
Uber Cup:PV Sindhu, Saina Nehwal, Aakarshi Kashyap, Malvika Bansod, Ashwini Ponnappa, Sikki Reddy, Pooja Dandu, Sanjana Santosh, Poorvisha Ram and Jakkampudi Meghana.
Denmark Open and Masters: PV Sindhu, Kidambi Srikanth, Lakshya Sen, Saina Nehwal, Ashwini Ponnappa and Sikki Reddy.

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here